California Physical Therapy CEU Requirements for License Renewal

California Physical Therapy Continuing Education Requirements

Below you'll find a summary of the continuing education requirements for California Physical Therapists and how to actually renew your California physical therapy license. The CEU requirements are set forth by the Physical Therapy Board of California. For more information please go to the Physical Therapy Board of California website.

CA CEU Requirements for PT's

  • Total hours required: 30
  • Online hours: No limit
  • Licensure period: Every 2 years (last day of the licensee's birth month)
  • Mandatory Courses: Licensees must complete 4 hours in Basic Life Support and 2 hours of Ethics, Laws and Regulations every biennial renewal period
  • Initial application fee: $300
  • All courses approved

CA CEU Requirements for PTA's

  • Total hours required: 30
  • Online hours: No limit
  • Licensure period: Every 2 years (last day of the licensee's birth month)
  • Mandatory Courses: Licensees must complete 4 hours in Basic Life Support and 2 hours of Ethics, Laws and Regulations every biennial renewal period
  • Initial application fee: $300
  • All courses approved

Are you looking to earn physical therapy CEUs? The Physical Therapy Board of California approves of all our physical therapy courses. Click the button below to start earning your CEUs.

Earn Your PT CEUs with Flex!

Your affordable California Physical Therapy CEU provider. Trusted by over 50,000 Licensed Physical Therapists & Assistants. Browse our course list today!

Get My CEUs

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Are you approved to provide physical therapist continuing education in California?

    Yes, FlexTherapistCEUs is accredited through the Physical Therapy Board of California to provide online Physical Therapists and Physical Therapist Assistants continuing education in California.

  2. How many CEUs courses can I take online?

    The Physical Therapy Board of California does not have a limit on online or distance learning continuing education credits for both physical therapists and physical therapy assistants.

  3. Do you offer physical therapist assistant CEUs?

    Yes, we offer continuing education courses for licensed physical therapist assistants as well as physical therapists and occupational therapists.

  4. How often must a license as a PT or a PTA be renewed?

    The renewal period is every 2 years (last day of the licensee's birth month).

  5. Are you a part of the American Physical Therapy Association?

    Yes, we are part of the American Physical Therapy Association since 2015.

  6. Do I have to pay before I get my CEUs?

    No, you only pay after completing continuing education credits and passing the test.


Have more questions?

The information contained on this page is simply a guide and represents the most accurate information available at the time this page was created. This information could change in the future, so it is up to the licensee to verify the information with their specific licensing board rather than rely on the information presented here.